Shop navigation


Yeah! With us you can pay secure with PayPal
Solution Graphics


cd: 9,50 €  (Sold out)
Stevens' 2005 album of folkrock inspired by the state of Illinois.

Illinois also known as Come on feel the Illinoise, is a 2005 concept album by American songwriter Sufjan Stevens, with songs referencing places and people related to the U.S. state of Illinois. It is his second album based on a U.S. state, part of a planned series of fifty that began with the 2003 album Michigan.

Critics have widely acclaimed Illinois, and the album was included on many "Best of 2005" lists in the Internet and print media. The website Metacritic, which compiles reviews, ranks Illinois as the best-reviewed album of 2005. That year, it was ranked "Album of the Year" by Pitchfork,'s editors, Entertainment Weekly’s Chris Willman, and The Los Angeles Times’ Richard Cromelin, among others.

Released: 5.7.2005
1. "Concerning the UFO Sighting Near Highland, Illinois" – 2:09
2. "The Black Hawk War, or, How to Demolish an Entire Civilization and Still Feel Good About Yourself in the Morning, or, We Apologize for the Inconvenience but You're Going to Have to Leave Now, or, 'I Have Fought the Big Knives and Will Continue to Fight Them Until They Are Off Our Lands!'" – 2:14
3. "Come On! Feel the Illinoise!" – 6:45
1. "The World's Columbian Exposition"
2. "Carl Sandburg Visits Me in a Dream"
4. "John Wayne Gacy, Jr." – 3:19
5. "Jacksonville" – 5:24
6. "A Short Reprise for Mary Todd, Who Went Insane, but for Very Good Reasons" – 0:47
7. "Decatur, or, Round of Applause for Your Step Mother!" – 3:03
8. "One Last 'Whoo-Hoo!' for the Pullman" – 0:06
9. "Chicago" – 6:04
10. "Casimir Pulaski Day" – 5:54
11. "To the Workers of the Rock River Valley Region, I Have an Idea Concerning Your Predicament" – 1:40
12. "The Man of Metropolis Steals Our Hearts" – 6:17
13. "Prairie Fire That Wanders About" – 2:11
14. "A Conjunction of Drones Simulating the Way in Which Sufjan Stevens Has an Existential Crisis in the Great Godfrey Maze" – 0:19
15. "The Predatory Wasp of the Palisades Is Out to Get Us!" – 5:23
16. "They Are Night Zombies!! They Are Neighbors!! They Have Come Back from the Dead!! Ahhhh!" – 5:09
17. "Let's Hear That String Part Again, Because I Don't Think They Heard It All the Way Out in Bushnell" – 0:40
18. "In This Temple as in the Hearts of Man for Whom He Saved the Earth" – 0:35
19. "The Seer's Tower" – 3:54
20. "The Tallest Man, the Broadest Shoulders" – 7:03
1. "The Great Frontier"
2. "Come to Me Only with Playthings Now"
21. "Riffs and Variations on a Single Note for Jelly Roll, Earl Hines, Louis Armstrong, Baby Dodds, and the King of Swing, to Name a Few" – 0:46
22. "Out of Egypt, into the Great Laugh of Mankind, and I Shake the Dirt from My Sandals as I Run" – 4:21
Artist tag:

Customers who bought this items also bought these:

(Sold out)
10 €
Vintage electronics boogie like a mo-fo!
(Sold out)
9,50 €
The sixth and - at least in this record clerk's humble opinion - greatest album by Glasgow's geekiest, Belle and Sebastian. Gone are the shoddy "production" and awkward performances of the previous records, but the amazing songs and razor sharply witty lyrics are still there!
(Sold out)
10 €
Feist's 2004 album. Jazzy singer-songwriter indiepop.
(Sold out)
15 €
Flaming Lips' early psychedelic raw punk rock as a colored double vinyl reissue! Nice thick covers n' all! Goodness!
Others are buying these
Hottest item of the last 24 hours!
All time top 50
Top 100 of 2008

Here's a few records we think you'd really enjoy (because we do)!

See other recommendations: